2017 Big Men's Tennis Tournament

2017 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament

Schwartz Tennis Center

West Lafayette, Indiana

April 27-30




Live scoring will be available on PurdueSports.com while a match is in progress. At the conclusion of each, live scoring will reset, and a box score will be posted on the tournament central webpage. Live streaming is also available on PurdueSports.com for all indoor competition, should inclement weather affect the tournament. The Big Ten uses the clinch-clinch format for all matches, including the championship.

*SIDs, please note that the winning team is still responsible for submitting match results to the ITA.

Media credentials will be issued by Purdue; please submit your requests to ashaaber@purdue.edu. Team SIDs and working media will need a credential to access hospitality, work-spaces and the tennis courts.

Purdue has hired a photographer to cover the championship match. For any other requests, please email ashaaber@purdue.edu. Team photographers not hired by Purdue will need to submit a request for a credential.


2017 Big Ten Tournament Release Get Acrobat Reader

All 12 conference teams travel to West Lafayette, Indiana, for the 2017 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament. The tournament, hosted by Purdue University, will begin on Thursday and conclude with the championship match on Sunday.

Matches begin at 9 a.m. ET Thursday with eighth-seeded Minnesota taking on ninth-seeded Indiana, followed by fifth-seeded Northwestern going against No. 12 seed Michigan State at 11:30 a.m. At 2 p.m., seventh-seeded Penn State will square off with No. 10 seed Iowa, while sixth-seeded Purdue will battle No. 11 seed Nebraska at 4:30 p.m.

Friday’s quarterfinals will begin at 9 a.m., with top-seeded Ohio State facing the winner of Minnesota-Indiana. At 11:30 a.m., fourth-seeded Wisconsin will take on the winner of Northwestern-Michigan State. Second-seeded Michigan will take on Penn State or Iowa at 2 p.m., while third-seeded Illinois will face the winner of Purdue-Nebraska at 4:30 p.m.

The tournament semifinals are scheduled for Saturday at 10:30 a.m. and 2 p.m. The championship match will be played at 11 a.m. on Sunday and be broadcast live BTN.

Last season, Ohio State earned its sixth conference tournament crown and first since 2014.

Buckeyes Win Men's Tennis Tournament
Top-seeded Buckeyes earn seventh conference tournament title

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - With a 4-1 victory over second-seeded Michigan, No. 1 seed Ohio State won the 2017 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament Sunday afternoon at Purdue’s Schwartz Tennis Center in West Lafayette, Ind. The Buckeyes earned their second-consecutive conference tournament crown and seventh overall.

Ohio State claimed the doubles point and an early 1-0 lead with victories in No. 2 doubles by Hugo Di Feo and Martin Joyce over Runhao Hua and Alex Knight (6-2) and in No. 1 doubles by Herkko Pollanen and Mikael Torpegaard over Connor Johnston and Jathan Malik (6-4).

Claiming singles wins for the Buckeyes were Torpegaard, Di Feo and Pollanen. Di Feo earned a 6-3, 6-3 win over Myles Schalet in No. 3 singles play, while Torpegaard defeated Malik 6-3, 6-1 in No. 1 singles action. Pollanen clinched the match for the Buckeyes with a 6-1, 6-4 win over Hua in No. 5 singles play.

With the win, Ohio State earns the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, which will take place May 18-29.

The complete match results are included below.

#2 Ohio State 4, #16 Michigan 1

Singles competition
1. #2 Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. #80 Jathan Malik (MICH) 6-3, 6-1
2. #123 Alex Knight (MICH) def. #41 JJ Wolf (OSU) 6-3, 6-4
3. #9 Hugo Di Feo (OSU) def. Myles Schalet (MICH) 6-3, 6-3
4. Martin Joyce (OSU) vs. Kevin Wong (MICH) 6-4, 5-4, unfinished
5. Herkko Pollanen (OSU) def. Runhao Hua (MICH) 6-1, 6-4
6. Kyle Seelig (OSU) vs. Carter Lin (MICH) 6-3, 6-6, unfinished

Doubles competition
1. #14 Herkko Pollanen/Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. #22 Connor Johnston/Jathan Malik (MICH) 6-4
2. #27 Hugo Di Feo/Martin Joyce (OSU) def. Runhao Hua/Alex Knight (MICH) 6-2
3. Hunter Tubert/JJ Wolf (OSU) vs. Myles Schalet/Kevin Wong (MICH) 4-5, unfinished

Match Notes:
Michigan 22-6, 9-2 Big Ten; National ranking #16
Ohio State 29-3, 11-0 Big Ten; National ranking #2
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (1,2,3,5)
Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament - Championship Match
Match played indoors on the Basham Courts at the Schwartz Tennis Center.


First Round - Thursday, April 27
9 a.m.

#8 Minnesota def. #9 Indiana, 4-2

Box Score | Recap
11:30 a.m.

#5 Northwestern def. #12 Michigan State, 4-0

Box Score | Recap
2 p.m.

#7 Penn State def. #10 Iowa, 4-0

Box Score | Recap
4:30 p.m.

#6 Purdue def. #11 Nebraska, 4-1

Box Score | Recap
Second Round - Friday, April 28
9 a.m.

#1 Ohio State def. #8 Minnesota, 4-0

Box Score | Recap
11:30 a.m.

#4 Wisconsin def. #5 Northwestern, 4-3

Box Score | Recap
2 p.m.

#2 Michigan def. #7 Penn State, 4-0

Box Score | Recap
4:30 p.m.

#3 Illinois vs. #6 Purdue

Box Score | Recap
Semifinals - Saturday, April 29
10:30 a.m.
#1 Ohio State
 def. #4 Wisconsin, 4-0

Box Score | Recap
2 p.m.
#2 Michigan def
#3 Illinois, 4-2

Box Score | Recap
Championship - Sunday, April 30
11 a.m.
#1 Ohio State def.#2 Michigan, 4-1

Box Score | Recap


Admission to the tournament is FREE for all spectators on all four days of competition. Programs, tournament merchandise and concessions will be available for purchase at the Schwartz Tennis Center.


Live scoring and live streaming (for indoor competition only) are available on PurdueSports.com. The Big Ten Network will also cover the championship match live, starting at 11 a.m. ET Sunday.


Schwartz Tennis Center
1324 State Road 526, West Lafayette, IN 47906

From Indianapolis Take I-65 N to IN-25 S (exit 175).
Take a left on IN-25 S, towards Lafayette. Continue straight to Sagamore Pkwy N (approximately 1.5 mi).
Turn right on Sagamore Pkwy N. Stay left to continue on Sagamore Pkwy N (approximately 3 mi).
Turn left on Yeager Road.
At the traffic circle, take the 2nd exit onto Northwestern Ave.
Turn right onto Cherry Lane (first traffic light).
Continue on Cherry Lane to McCormick Road/State Road 526 (first stop sign; approximately 1 mi).
Turn left on McCormick Road/State Road 526.
Free parking for Boilermaker Cross Country Course, Folk Field and Schwartz Tennis Center is on the right.

From Chicago
Take I-65 S to US-231 S toward Wolcott/Chalmers (exit 193).
Turn right off ramp onto US-231 S.
Continue on US-231 S (approximately 13 mi)
Turn left onto US-231 S/US-52 E (continue for approximately 4 mi).
Turn right onto US-231/US-52 E.
Turn left onto W 200 N/Lindberg Rd.
Turn right immediately onto McCormick Rd/State Road 526.
At the stop sign, continue straight.
Free parking for Boilermaker Cross Country Course, Folk Field and Schwartz Tennis Center is on the right.
State Street Redevelopment Project construction is underway. This work will close a portion of State Street and significantly affect surrounding thoroughfares in West Lafayette. For construction and project information, click here.