Big Ten Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championships Release

May 11, 2005

Big Ten Championships Preview Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Defending champion Wisconsin will look to claim its fifth Conference crown in six years as the Badgers travel to Columbus this weekend for the 2005 Big Ten Outdoor Track & Field Championships. 

Ed Nuttycombe's squad will also be vying for its second consecutive Big Ten "Triple Crown" - League titles in cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field in the same academic year. 

Several student-athletes will be back to defend their titles from a year ago, including Indiana's David Neville in the 200- and 400-meter dashes and the Badgers' Simon Bairu in the 10,000 meters. 

Michigan leads all Conference squads with 30 Big Ten titles, while Illinois (28) and Wisconsin (14) round out the top three.

Action will begin at noon on Friday with the decathlon 100-meter and will feature other decathlon and heptathlon events, as well as the finals of the men's and women's 10,000-meter runs.  Field event champions will also be crowned in the men's and women's hammer throw and women's pole vault.  The meet will continue on Saturday with the decathlon 110-meter hurdles at 9:30 a.m. and will conclude Sunday with the men's 4x400-meter relay.  

College Sports Television will broadcast the Championships on a tape-delayed basis.  CSTV will air the event on Tuesday, May 17 at 9 p.m. ET.