Big Ten Claims Three National Titles on Final Day of NCAA Championships

June 9, 2012

Championships Central

The Big Ten earned three national titles on Saturday, totaling six NCAA crowns over the four-day event. Illinois' Andrew Riley (110-meter hurdles), Indiana's Andrew Bayer (1,500-meter run) and Ohio State's Christina Manning (100-meter hurdles) all took home NCAA titles on the final day of the championships in Des Moines, Iowa. 

The conference also secured top-eight marks in various events on Saturday. In the shot put, Nebraska's Luke Pinkelman (19.72 meters), Penn State's Joe Kovacs (19.58 meters) and Ohio State's Matt DeChant (19.57 meters) placed third, fourth and fifth, respectively. In the 1,500-meter run, Wisconsin's Rob Finnerty placed fifth, crossing the line at 3:44.53. The 3,000-meter steeplechase had another trio of top-eight Big Ten performers, as Michigan's Craig Forys (8:40.66), Ohio State's Cory Leslie (8:40.98) and Indiana's De'Sean Turner (8:46.04) finished second, third and seventh, respectively, at the championships.

Two relay squads also turned in top-five performances. In the 400-meter relay, the Ohio State women (Christienne Linton, Manning, Aisha Cavin, Chesna Sykes) placed fifth, while the Penn State men (Aaron Nadolsky, Brandon Bennett-Green, Casimir Loxsom, Brady Gehret) finished fourth at the championships.

For complete results, select the link above.

NCAA Champions
Andrew Riley, Illinois (100-meter dash, 110-meter hurdles)
Ashley Spencer, Illinois (400-meter dash)
Andrew Bayer, Indiana (1,500-meter run)
Chad Wright, Nebraska (discus)
Christina Manning, Ohio State (100-meter hurdles)