Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award Nominee -- Andrew Riley, Illinois

Andrew Riley is Illinois' nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award.

June 16, 2011

Through Friday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 22 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on the Big Ten Network’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Riley won the 60-meter hurdles indoor NCAA title, becoming the third Illini to win and indoor and outdoor national title. He earned first-team All-America honors for the fifth time in his career and claimed first-team All-Big Ten accolades after winning the 60-meter hurdles conference title for the third time in his career. During the outdoor season, he placed second in the 110-meter hurdles at the NCAA Championships and led off the 4x100 relay which placed third, marking the best program finish since 1964. Click HERE for more information on Andrew.


Ashley Benson, Indiana Volleyball

Derek Drouin, Indiana Track & Field

Kachine Alexander, Iowa Basketball

Vince India, Iowa Golf

Emily MacLeod, Michigan State Cross Country/Track

Greg Jones, Michigan State Football

Kelci Bryant, Minnesota Diving



Michael Richards, Minnesota Swimming

Numa Gulyanamitta, Purdue Golf

David Boudia, Purdue Diving

Blair Brown, Penn State Volleyball

Talor Battle, Penn State Basketball

Melissa Fernandez, Illinois Gymnastics