Big Ten Wrestling Dominates CSTV Programming on Sunday

Minnesota's Bobbe Lowe is one of the featured Golden Gopher wrestlers who can be seen on CSTV's Dog Days on Sunday.

Minnesota's Bobbe Lowe is one of the featured Golden Gopher wrestlers who can be seen on CSTV's Dog Days on Sunday.

Feb. 16, 2005

PARK RIDGE, IL - College Sports Television (CSTV) will give Big Ten wrestling unprecedented national television exposure this Sunday, February 20, when it premieres its original production of Dog Days: Minnesota Wrestling, followed by its telecasts of No. 3 Illinois at No. 10 Minnesota and Ohio State at No. 13 Penn State.

"CSTV is the only national network with a college wrestling series, and our commitment to growing this sport is no more evident than on Sunday, when we premiere Dog Days and feature four of the most prominent collegiate wrestling programs," said Tim Pernetti, senior vice president, programming and talent, CSTV. "Many of the greatest college wrestlers in the country, including those expected to compete for All-America and national champion honors at the upcoming NCAAs, will be showcased on national television Sunday."

Dog Days: Minnesota Wrestling (Sunday, Feb. 20, 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)
From wakeup to bed check, CSTV's Dog Days original series takes viewers behind-the-scenes and into the faces of the student-athletes and coaches at the top college athletic programs in the country.  This Sunday, CSTV shadows No. 10 Minnesota, which is seeking to improve this year on its eight-place finish at the 2004 NCAA Championships.  Among the Minnesota wrestlers interviewed in Dog Days are 2003 All-America Bobbe Lowe, 2004 All-America Cole Konrad, Matt Nagel and freshman sensation Mack Reiter, along with head coach J Robinson and Joe Russell. The student-athletes discuss their motivation to train and compete, what characteristics distinguish wrestling from other sports and the special dedication necessary to excel, and the mental and physical preparation and sacrifices needed to succeed at the highest echelons of college wrestling. 

No. 3 Illinois at No. 10 Minnesota (Sunday, Feb. 20, 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT)
Illinois sits atop the Big Ten with a 5-0-1 conference record and a 14-1-1 overall slate, and is led by Kyle Ott (#2 at 125 pounds), Mark Jayne (#4 at 133), Anton Dietzen (#12 at 149), Alex Tirapelle (#3 at 157),  Donny Reynolds (#11 at 165), Pete Freidl (#4 at 174), Brian Glynn (#3 at 184) and Tyrone Byrd (#9 at 197).  Minnesota counters with Bobbe Lowe (#5 at 125), Mack Reiter (#3 at 133), Tommy Owen (#20 at 141), Matt Nagel (#10 at 165), Roger Kish (#6 at 184) and Cole Konrad (#2 at 285).

Ohio State at No. 14 Penn State (Sunday, Feb. 20, 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT)
Ohio State, which tied for third in the NCAA Championships last season, is led by Bryan Heller (#18 at 133), J.D. Bergman (#4 at 197), Kirk Nail (#20 at 285).  Among the stars for the host Nittany Lions are T.J. Enright (#16 at 133), Dewitt Driscoll (#12 at 141), Nathan Galloway (#18 at 157), Eric Bradley (#5 at 184) and Philip Davis (#13 at 197).

Sunday's CSTV doubleheader featuring Illinois, Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State will be a prelude to the Big Ten Wrestling Championship, which will be televised on CSTV  Monday, March 7, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.