Iowa Clinches Share of Big Ten Wrestling Dual Meet Championship

Feb. 23, 2014

Rosemont, Ill. -

With its 28-10 win over No. 15 Wisconsin on Sunday afternoon, No. 3 Iowa clinched a share of the Big Ten Wrestling Dual Meet Championship. The regular season conference title marks the sixth in the past seven years for the Hawkeyes. Iowa, Minnesota and Penn State each ended the Big Ten dual meet season with matching 7-1 marks to share the title.

The match started with two pins for the Hawkeyes, as Cory Clark and Tony Ramos posted falls at 125 and 133 pounds, respectively. Iowa also picked up wins from Brady Grothus (149), Nick Moore (165), Mike Evans (174), Ethen Lofthouse (184) and Nathan Burak (197).

The 100th Big Ten Wrestling Championships will be held from March 8-9 at the Kohl Center in Madison, Wis. The Hawkeyes, Gophers and Nittany Lions have won each of the last eight Big Ten Championships, including the last three titles for Penn State in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Iowa was victorious in the 2008, 2009 and 2010 Big Ten Championships and leads all schools with 34 titles, while Minnesota won the title in 2006 and 2007.