Penn State Wins 2012 Big Ten Wrestling Championships

Penn State's David Taylor was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year for the second consecutive season.

March 4, 2012

Final Team Standings and Brackets Get Acrobat Reader | Championships Central | Penn State Recap

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -Penn State won its second straight Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday, claiming first place with a score of 149. The Nittany Lions claimed three individual titles en route to the conference championship. Minnesota finished in second place with 134 points, while Iowa took third with 126. Fourth-place Illinois (105.5 points) and fifth-place Ohio State (91 points) rounded out the top five.

Penn State's David Taylor earned his second straight Big Ten Wrestler of the Year award, while Nittany Lion head coach Cael Sanderson picked up his second consecutive Coach of the Year accolade. Ohio State's Logan Stieber earned Freshman of the Year honors, while Michigan's Kellen Russell and Penn State's Frank Molinaro were named Co-Wrestler of the Championships.

Iowa's Matt McDonough took the title at 125 pounds, defeating Minnesota's Zach Sanders to earn his second straight Big Ten crown. McDonough, the No. 1 seed at 125, took a 6-1 decision over the second-seeded Sanders. At 133, top-seeded Stieber of Ohio State earned a 5-2 decision against Iowa No. 2 seed Tony Ramos to win the championship in his first conference tournament.

Russell became the 11th four-time champion in Big Ten history, as the top seed picked up a 7-2 decision against Iowa No. 3 seed Montell Marion to claim the 141-pound title. The 149-pound crown went to top-seeded Molinaro, who earned a 15-0 technical fall in 4:50 against third-seeded Dylan Ness of Minnesota in the title bout to clinch his second straight Big Ten title.

At 157, Iowa No. 6 seed Derek St. John scored a takedown in the final seconds to earn a 4-3 decision over Northwestern No. 1 seed Jason Welch and take home his first conference crown. Taylor, a No. 1 seed at 165, won his second Big Ten title in as many seasons, earning the championship with an 11-2 major decision against Iowa No. 2 seed Mike Evans.

Fellow Nittany Lion No. 1 seed Ed Ruth also claimed his second consecutive Big Ten title, taking the 174-pound championship with a 13-2 major decision against Minnesota No. 2 seed Logan Storley to earn the crown. Top-seeded Kevin Steinhaus of Minnesota won the 184-pound title with a 3-1 sudden victory decision over Nebraska No. 3 seed Josh Ihnen, marking Steinhaus' first Big Ten Championship.

At 197, Illinois No. 5 seed Mario Gonzalez won his first Big Ten title, taking a 10-4 decision over second-seeded Matt Powless of Indiana. Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was top-seeded heavyweight Tony Nelson of Minnesota, who took a 2-0 decision against Iowa No. 6 Bobby Telford to win his first conference crown.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below.

Freshman of the Year: Logan Stieber, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Cael Sanderson, Penn State
Co-Wrestler of the Championships: Kellen Russell, Michigan; Frank Molinaro, Penn State

Mario Gonzalez, Illinois
Matt McDonough, Iowa
Derek St. John, Iowa
Kellen Russell, Michigan
Tony Nelson, Minnesota
Kevin Steinhaus, Minnesota
Logan Stieber, Ohio State
Frank Molinaro, Penn State
Ed Ruth, Penn State
David Taylor, Penn State

Eric Terrazas, Illinois
Matt Ortega, Indiana
Matt McDonough, Iowa
Justin Zeerip, Michigan
Dan Osterman, Michigan State
Zach Sanders, Minnesota
Robert Kokesh, Nebraska
Jason Welch, Northwestern
Logan Stieber, Ohio State
Clay Steadman, Penn State
Camden Eppert, Purdue
Cole Tobin, Wisconsin