Iowa Claims Third Straight Big Ten Wrestling Championship

March 7, 2010

Complete 2010 Big Ten Wrestling Championships Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Iowa recap

Having nine of its wrestlers finish in fourth place or higher, the Iowa Hawkeyes won their 34th Big Ten Championship and third in a row Sunday afternoon on the final day of the 2010 Big Ten Wrestling Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich. Iowa finished with 156.5 points and had a pair of individual champions en route to victory. Minnesota earned runner-up honors with 119.5 points, while Wisconsin was third with 109 points and Ohio State was fourth with 102.5 points.

Ohio State’s Lance Palmer earned Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships honors after the No. 2 seed defeated No. 1 Brent Metcalf of Iowa, 9-3, in the 149-pound championship bout. Minnesota’s Jayson Ness claimed Big Ten Wrestler of the Year honors as he won his second straight 133-pound title and ran the table this season, posting an undefeated record. Iowa’s Matt McDonough was named the Freshman of the Year while his mentor Tom Brands was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the third straight season.

Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin each boast two individual conference champions while Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State and Penn State each had one. Indiana’s Angel Escobedo won his third straight conference title at 125 pounds, while Iowa’s Dan Erekson and Wisconsin’s Andrew Howe successfully defended their crowns from 2009. Ness won his first championship at 133 pounds after winning the 125-pound crown in 2007.

Illinois’ John Dergo (197), Iowa’s Jay Borschel (174 pounds) Minnesota’s Mike Thorn (141 pounds), Ohio State’s Palmer, Penn State’s Cyler Sanderson (157 pounds) and Wisconsin’s Trevor Brandvold (197 pounds) each won their first individual conference championship.

Individual Award Winners
Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships - Lance Palmer, OSU
Freshman of the Year - Matt McDonough, IOWA
Wrestler of the Year - Jayson Ness, MINN
Coach of the Year - Tom Brands, IOWA

First Team All-Big Ten Honorees:
John Dergo, ILL
Angel Escobedo, IND
Jay Borschel, IOWA
Dan Erekson, IOWA
Jayson Ness, MINN
Mike Thorn, MINN
Lance Palmer, OSU
Cyler Sanderson, PSU
Trevor Brandvold, WIS
Andrew Howe, WIS