Penn State Wins 2013 Big Ten Wrestling Championships

March 10, 2013

Final Team Standings and Brackets Get Acrobat Reader | Championships Central

Penn State won its third straight Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday, claiming first place with a score of 151. The Nittany Lions claimed four individual titles en route to the conference championship. Minnesota finished in second place with 139 points, while Iowa took third with 133.5. Fourth-place Ohio State (109.5 points) and fifth-place Illinois (85.5 points) rounded out the top five.

Penn State’s Ed Ruth earned Big Ten Wrestler of the Year honors, while Minnesota’s J Robinson and the Nittany Lions’ Cael Sanderson picked up Co-Coach of the Year accolades. Wisconsin’s Connor Medbery earned Freshman of the Year honors, while Illinois’ Jesse Delgado was named Wrestler of the Championships.

Illinois’ Delgado took the title at 125 pounds, defeating Iowa’s Matt McDonough to earn his first Big Ten crown. Delgado, the No. 3 seed, took a 10-4 decision over the top-seeded McDonough. At 133, top-seeded Logan Stieber of Ohio State earned a 3-1 sudden victory against Iowa No. 2 seed Tony Ramos to win his second consecutive Big Ten title.

Ohio State’s Hunter Stieber earned his first conference crown, as the top seed picked up an 8-3 decision against Iowa No. 3 seed Mark Ballweg to claim the 141-pound title. The 149-pound crown went to No. 3 seed Dylan Ness of Minnesota, who earned a second period fall in 3:37 against fourth-seeded Jake Sueflohn of Nebraska to clinch his first Big Ten title.

At 157, No. 2 seed Jason Welch of Northwestern scored a fall at the 6:38 mark to defeat No. 4 seed James Green of Nebraska and take home his first conference crown. Penn State’s David Taylor, a No. 1 seed at 165, won his third Big Ten title in as many seasons, earning the championship with a 9-1 major decision against Illinois No. 2 seed Conrad Polz.

Fellow Nittany Lion and No. 5 seed Matt Brown also claimed a Big Ten title, taking the 174-pound championship with a 7-3 decision against Iowa No. 2 seed Mike Evans to earn the crown. Penn State's top-seeded Ruth claimed his third consecutive Big Ten title, earning a 5-3 decision over Minnesota’s second-seeded Kevin Steinhaus at 184.

At 197, Penn State No. 1 seed Quentin Wright won his second Big Ten title, taking a 5-3 decision over second-seeded Scott Schiller of Minnesota. Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was top-seeded heavyweight Tony Nelson of Minnesota, who took a 4-1 decision against Northwestern No. 2 seed Mike McMullan to win his second conference crown.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below.


Wrestler of the Year: Ed Ruth, Penn State

Freshman of the Year: Connor Medbery, Wisconsin

Coach of the Year: J Robinson, Minnesota; Cael Sanderson, Penn State

Wrestler of the Championships: Jesse Delgado, Illinois


Jesse Delgado, Illinois

Dylan Ness, Minnesota

Tony Nelson, Minnesota

Jason Welch, Northwestern

Hunter Stieber, Ohio State

Logan Stieber, Ohio State

Matt Brown, Penn State

Ed Ruth, Penn State

David Taylor, Penn State

Quentin Wright, Penn State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Pat Walker, Illinois

Ryan LeBlanc, Indiana

Mark Ballweg, Iowa

Ben Apland, Michigan

David Cheza, Michigan State

Kevin Steinhaus, Minnesota

Josh Ihnen, Nebraska

Dylan Marriott, Northwestern

Logan Stieber, Ohio State

Quentin Wright, Penn State

Braden Atwood, Purdue

Connor Medbery, Wisconsin