Penn State Wins Second Consecutive NCAA Wrestling Title

David Taylor was one of three Penn State wrestlers to earn national titles in the Nittany Lions' national championship run on Saturday.

March 17, 2012

NCAA Championships Final Standings and BracketsGet Acrobat Reader

ST. LOUIS - Penn State won its second NCAA Wrestling Championships title in as many seasons after picking up three individual weight class titles on Saturday night at Scottrade Center in St. Louis. The Nittany Lions accrued 143 team points en route to the national title, while Minnesota and Iowa rounded out the top three with 117.5 and 107.5 points, respectively. 

The Nittany Lions' Frank Molinaro (149 pounds), David Taylor (165) and Ed Ruth (174) each won titles to push Penn State to the national crown, while Iowa's Matt McDonough (125), Ohio State's Logan Stieber (133), Michigan's Kellen Russell (141) and Minnesota's Tony Nelson (285) also won national championships on Saturday to give the Big Ten seven of the 10 individual champions.

Click here to read Penn State's complete recap.