Penn State Wins Third Consecutive NCAA Wrestling Title

March 23, 2013

Penn State won its third NCAA Wrestling Championships title in as many seasons after picking up two individual weight class titles on Saturday night at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa. The Nittany Lions totaled 123.5 team points en route to the national title, while third-place Minnesota and fourth-place Iowa finished in the top five with 103 and 73 points, respectively. 

The Nittany Lions' Ed Ruth (184 pounds) and Quentin Wright (197) each won titles to push Penn State to the national crown, while Illinois’ Jesse Delgado (125), Ohio State’s Logan Stieber (133), Iowa’s Derek St. John (157) and Minnesota’s Tony Nelson (285) also won national championships on Saturday to give the Big Ten six of the 10 individual champions.

Penn State Recap