Big Ten Recognizes Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

March 28, 2012

Winter Academic All-Big Ten HonoreesGet Acrobat Reader

Park Ridge, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference on Wednesday recognized a total of 615 winter sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honored student-athletes features 41 men's and 62 women's basketball players, 57 men's and 50 women's gymnasts, 105 men's and 221 women's swimmers and divers and 79 wrestlers. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. 

At least three of these student-athletes have maintained unblemished GPAs. Minnesota men's gymnast Nathan Fortunato (So., Recreation Resource Management), Purdue women's basketball player Chelsea Jones (Sr., Biology) and Nebraska wrestler Tucker Lane (Gr., Graduate Studies) boast cumulative 4.0 GPAs.

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program.

The complete listing of 2012 winter sports Academic All-Big Ten honorees can be found in the PDF at the top of the page.