2017-18 Wrestling Season In Review
April 10, 2018

The Big Ten wrestling season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 17 with Penn State earning the national title. The Nittany Lions amassed 141.5 points, while fellow Big Ten member Ohio State came in second with 134.5 points. Three other Big Ten schools also finished among the top 10 -- Iowa in third place (97 points), Michigan tied for fourth (80.0), and Nebraska in ninth (47.0).

We Are the Champions
Penn State won the 2018 NCAA Wrestling Championships at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, capturing the eighth NCAA wrestling title in school history and third in a row. The Nittany Lions' title marked the 12th straight year that a Big Ten school has claimed the NCAA Championship, with seven of Penn State's crowns coming in the last eight years. The Nittany Lions' Zain Retherford earned his third straight 149-pound title, while Jason Nolf claimed the 157-pound championship for the second time. Vincenzo Joseph won the 165-pound title, while Bo Nickal was victorious in the 184-pound division. For more information about the NCAA Championships and All-Americans, click here.

NCAA Championships Qualifiers
The Big Ten was well-represented at the 2018 NCAA Wrestling Championships, with 88 wrestlers from all 14 Big Ten schools competing at Quicken Loans Arena. The Big Ten competitors included 56 seeded grapplers with five No. 1 seeds across 10 weight classes. For more information about the NCAA qualifiers, click here.

Big Ten Crown
Ohio State won the 2018 Big Ten Wrestling Championships title with a team score of 164.5. The Buckeyes earned their second-straight Big Ten Championship and fifth overall. Ohio State claimed four individual titles from Nathan Tomasello (125), Joey McKenna (141), Kollin Moore (197) and Kyle Snyder (285). For more information on the Big Ten Championships, individual award winners and All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Big Ten Dual-Meet Title
With its 28-13 win over Iowa on Feb. 10, Penn State clinched the outright Big Ten Wrestling Dual Meet Championship in front of an NCAA indoor dual meet record crowd of 15,998 fans inside Bryce Jordan Center in University Park, Pa. The Nittany Lions finished with a perfect 9-0 conference record and are 13-0 overall on the season. The conference title marks the fifth in the last seven years for Penn State. For information on Penn State’s title, click here.

Sportsmanship Honorees
Each institution shall name one sportsmanship award honoree in each sport sponsored. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Sportsmanship honorees from the 2017-18 season can be found below:

2017-18 Sportsmanship Honorees
Andre Lee, Illinois
Bryce Martin, Indiana
Spencer Lee, Iowa
Brendan Burnham, Maryland
Adam Coon, Michigan
Javier Gasca, Michigan State
Mitch McKee, Minnesota
Taylor Venz, Nebraska
Braxton Cody, Northwestern
Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State
Mark Hall, Penn State
Luke Welch, Purdue
Nick Gravina, Rutgers

Academic Excellence
On March 21, the conference recognized winter sports athletes who had been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 138 wrestlers. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports, who have been enrolled fulltime at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. For more on the Academic All-Big Ten selections, click here.