2012 Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year Award Nominee - Iowa's Matt McDonough

Matt McDonough is Iowa's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year award.

June 12, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Matt McDonough – Iowa – Wrestling
McDonough earned his second NCAA title after beating Penn State’s Nico Megaludis in the 125-pound championship final to pick up his 100th career victory. The junior became a two-time Big Ten Champion and posted a 36-1 record throughout the season. A three-time All-American, he led the Hawkeyes in numerous categories last season, including wins (36), overall winning percentage (.973) and pins (12). Click HERE for more information on Matt.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey