2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award Nominee - Minnesota's Tony Nelson

Tony Nelson is Minnesota's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year.

June 13, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN's season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Tony Nelson - Minnesota - Wrestling
Nelson defeated 2011 NCAA Champion Zach Rey of Lehigh to capture this year's NCAA Heavyweight Championship. The redshirt sophomore was named an All-American and Minnesota's Best Male Athlete of the Year. The Big Ten Champion finished the year with a 32-2 overall record, including a 25-match win streak, and an undefeated 8-0 mark in Big Ten dual matches. Click HERE for more information on Tony.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf