2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Nominee - PSU's David Taylor

David Taylor is Penn State's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year award.

June 15, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

David Taylor – Penn State – Wrestling
Taylor, a two-time All-American, worked through the NCAA Tournament bracket, tallying a 5-0 record, with four pins and one tech fall to earn the 165-pound crown. His 22 points in the championship match was an all-time NCAA record for points scored in a title bout. The redshirt sophomore compiled an undefeated 32-0 record last season en route to his second straight Big Ten title. He was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year for the second consecutive year, and garnered other national awards including NCAA Championship Outstanding Wrestler, NCAA Most Dominant Wrestler and the Hodge Trophy as National Collegiate Wrestler of the Year. Click HERE for more information on David.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf



Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler

Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball

Lavonte David, Nebraska football

Ashley Miller, Nebraska track

Andrew Riley, Illinois track

Colleen Ward, Illinois volleyball

Christina Manning, Ohio State track

Zain Shaito, Ohio State fencing

John Shurna, Northwestern basketball

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern lacrosse

Maya Hayes, Penn State soccer