2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Nominee - Michigan's Kellen Russell

Kellen Russell is Michigan's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year award.

June 18, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Kellen Russell – Michigan – Wrestling
Russell capped his collegiate career with his second straight NCAA title, posting a near-perfect 33-1 record at 141 pounds. The senior also won his fourth Big Ten title, making him the 11th four-time Big Ten Champion in conference history and the first in Michigan annals. For his efforts, he was named Co-Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships at the conference meet. He ended his career with a 134-12 record, tying for eighth place on Michigan's all-time wins list and his career win percentage (.918) ranks second in program history. Click HERE for more information on Kellen.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler



Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball

Lavonte David, Nebraska football

Ashley Miller, Nebraska track

Andrew Riley, Illinois track

Colleen Ward, Illinois volleyball

Christina Manning, Ohio State track

Zain Shaito, Ohio State fencing

John Shurna, Northwestern basketball

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern lacrosse

Maya Hayes, Penn State soccer

David Taylor, Penn State wrestling

Andy Bayer, Indiana track

Allysa Vavra, Indiana swimming

Montee Ball, Wisconsin football

Brianna Decker, Wisconsin ice hockey

Felice Mueller, Michigan rowing