Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Logan Stieber (Ohio State)

Stieber posted a 30-1 mark in 2013-14, improving his career win total to 90-3.

June 19, 2014

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Logan Stieber – Ohio State – Wrestling

Stieber, a junior from Monroeville, Ohio, earned 2014 All-America and All-Big Ten laurels. The first Buckeye to win three NCAA championships, Stieber posted a 30-1 mark in 2013-14, improving his career win total to 90-3 (.968), which ranks No. 1 all-time in the Ohio State records book. The 2014 team captain and USA Wrestler of the Week (Nov. 5, 2013) not only finished the season with his third national title, but did so in dominating fashion as four of his five matches were won via bonus points. Leading the nation with 11 technical falls at the conclusion of the 2013-14 campaign, Stieber also collected seven major decisions and 10 falls. Click HERE for more information on Logan.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics

Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field



Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing