Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - IOWA's Derek St. John

St. John captured the NCAA Championship at 157 pounds after posted a 31-2 overall record last season.

June 20, 2013

Through Tuesday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced next week.

Derek St. John – Iowa – Wrestling

St. John posted a 31-2 overall record last season, leading Iowa in total wins en route to his first NCAA Championship at 157 pounds. The three-time All-American amassed a career-best 22-match win streak to begin the season and was a perfect 8-0 in Big Ten duals, pacing the Hawkeyes with 85 dual points in conference action.  St. John placed third at the Big Ten Championships, securing his third-straight NCAA automatic bid to the championships. The Parnell, Iowa, native was also the recipient of the Mike Howard Most Valuable Wrestler Award and the Mike J. McGivern Award for most courageous wrestler. Click HERE for more information on Derek.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving