Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern)

Tsirtsis was the 2014 NCAA and Big Ten Champion at 149 lbs.

June 20, 2014

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Jason Tsirtsis – Northwestern – Wrestling

The 2014 NCAA and Big Ten Champion at 149 lbs., Tsirtsis helped lead Northwestern to a ninth-place team finish at the NCAA Championships, the Wildcats’ second top-10 finish in the last three seasons. A 2014 All-American, his .914 career winning percentage (32-3) ranks second all-time in school history. Tsirtsis ended the year on a 16-match winning streak, including three consecutive sudden death wins to take the NCAA crown. Click HERE for more information on Jason.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics

Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field

Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing



Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling

Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin hockey

Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin track & field

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota gymnastics

Ellis Mannon, Minnesota gymnastics

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern lacrosse