Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - MINN's Tony Nelson

Nelson won his second consecutive NCAA heavyweight championship

Nelson won his second consecutive NCAA heavyweight championship

June 21, 2013

Through Tuesday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced next week.

Tony Nelson – Minnesota – Wrestling
Nelson, a three-time All-American, won his second consecutive NCAA heavyweight championship to become only the fifth Golden Gopher in program history to win back-to-back national titles. He finished the year with a 33-1 overall record, including unblemished marks in overall dual (15-0) and conference competition (8-0). Nelson tallied an 8-1 record against ranked opponents, with victories over four grapplers in the top 10. The Cambridge, Minn., native won his second Big Ten Championship at heavyweight en route to first-team All-Conference honors. Click HERE for more information on Tony.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    

Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving



Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf