Pre-Seeds For 2004 Big Ten Wrestling Championships Announced

March 1, 2004

PARK RIDGE, IL - The preliminary seeds for the 2004 Big Ten Wrestling Championships were announced today by Conference officials. The pre-seeds are determined by a vote amongst the League's head wrestling coaches after consideration of regular-season results. The 2004 Big Ten Wrestling Championships will take place on Saturday, March 6, and Sunday, March 7, at St. John Arena on the campus of The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. The Championships bracket will be set on Friday, March 5.

Iowa leads the way with three No. 1 pre-seeds as Luke Eustice (125 lbs.), Cliff Moore (141 lbs.) and Tyler Nixt (174 lbs.) earned the top spots in their respective divisions. Moore is the defending Big Ten champion at 141 lbs., while Nixt was a runner-up in 2003.

Michigan, Illinois and Ohio State each have a pair of No. 1 preliminary seeds entering the Championships. The Wolverines and Illini tied in Big Ten dual standings this season with 7-1 League records. Michigan's Foley Dowd (133 lbs.) and Ryan Churella (149 lbs.) are among the top seeds, along with Illinois' Alex Tirapelle (157 lbs.) and Brian Glynn (184 lbs.). Tirapelle was ranked No. 1 in the nation in his weight class according to Intermat last week, as was Ohio State's Tommy Rowlands, the League's No. 1 pre-seed in the heavyweight division. John Clark (165 lbs.) is the Buckeyes' other No. 1 pre-seed.

Minnesota's Damion Hahn, the defending Big Ten champion at 197-lbs., rounds out the list of top pre-seeds. Hahn will lead the Golden Gophers in their attempt to record a fourth-consecutive Big Ten Championships crown. Minnesota (126.5 points) held off Iowa (121 points) last year to capture the 2003 team title.

Tickets may be purchased by contacting the Ohio State Athletic Ticket Office at 1-800-GO BUCKS or on-line at The Ohio State Athletic Ticket Office is located in the southeast rotunda of the Jerome Schottenstein Center and is open Monday thru Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET.

The complete list of pre-seeds follows.


125 lbs.
1.Luke Eustice, Iowa
2.Tom Clum, Wisconsin
3.Kyle Ott, Illinois
4.Joe Dubuque, Indiana
5.Mark Moos, Michigan
6.Bobbe Lowe, Minnesota
7.John Velez, Northwestern
8.Adam Smith, Penn State
133 lbs.
1.Foley Dowd, Michigan
2.Josh Moore, Penn State
3.Mark Jayne, Illinois
4.Ed Gutnik, Wisconsin
5.Rene Hernandez, Purdue
6.Jesse Leng, Ohio State
7.Quincy Osborn, Minnesota
8.Nick Spatola, Indiana
141 lbs.
1.Cliff Moore, Iowa
2.Andy Simmons, Michigan State
3.Coyte Cooper, Indiana
4.Tommy Owen, Minnesota
5.Tyler Lauden, Wisconsin
6.Michael Martin, Illinois
7.DeWitt Driscoll, Penn State
8.Clark Forward, Michigan
149 lbs.
1.Ryan Churella, Michigan
2.Ty Eustice, Iowa
3.Matt Storniolo, Penn State
4.Jeff Ratliff, Ohio State
5.Anton Dietzen, Illinois
6.Dan Jankowski, Purdue
7.Josh Ballard, Northwestern
8.Darren McKnight, Michigan State
157 lbs.
1.Alex Tirapelle, Illinois
2.Ryan Bertin, Michigan
3.Tyler Turner, Wisconsin
4.Joe Johnston, Iowa
5.Brad Harper, Purdue
6.Matt Nagel, Minnesota
7.James Woodall, Penn State
8.Mike Kimberlin, Northwestern
165 lbs.
1.John Clark, Ohio State
T2.Pat Owen, Michigan
T2.Jacob Volkmann, Minnesota
4.Cole Pape, Iowa
5.Kelly Flaherty, Wisconsin
6.Nick Hayes, Northwestern
7.Ben Hay, Illinois
8.Jarrad Turner, Penn State
174 lbs.
1.Tyler Nixt, Iowa
2.Ryan Lange, Purdue
3.Jon Duncombe, Minnesota
4.Ralph DeNisco, Wisconsin
5.Pete Friedl, Illinois
T6.Brady Richardson, Indiana
T6.Nick Roy, Michigan
8.Anthony Magistrelli, Ohio State
184 lbs.
1.Brian Glynn, Illinois
2.Eric Bradley, Penn State
3.Brady Reinke, Wisconsin
4.Blake Kaplan, Ohio State
5.Paul Bradley, Iowa
6.Ben Wissel, Purdue
7.Nate Mesyn, Michigan State
8.Josh McLay, Minnesota
197 lbs.
1.Damion Hahn, Minnesota
2.Ryan Fulsaas, Iowa
3.J.D. Bergman, Ohio State
4.Pat DeGain, Indiana
5.Ryan Flaherty, Wisconsin
6.Jason Potter, Illinois
7.Joel Edwards, Penn State
8.Matt Delguyd, Northwestern
1.Tommy Rowlands, Ohio State
2.Greg Wagner, Michigan
3.Pat Cummins, Penn State
4.Cole Konrad, Minnesota
5.Israel Blevins, Purdue
6.Josh Buuck, Indiana
7.Mike Behnke, Illinois
8.Ryan Fuller, Iowa