Big Ten Wrestling Begins 2010-11 Slate This Weekend

Nov. 5, 2010

The 2010-11 Big Ten wrestling season opens this weekend with five conference teams seeing their first action of the season. Michigan, Michigan State and Purdue open the season on Saturday, while Ohio State and Northwestern begin the 2010-11 campaign on Sunday. Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota and Penn State take to the mat for the first time next weekend, while Iowa and Wisconsin compete in their first events on Nov. 19.

No. 18 Michigan and Michigan State head to Ypsilanti, Mich., on Saturday to compete in the Eastern Michigan Open. No. 20 Purdue rounds out Saturday's slate with duals against Hofstra and Edinboro at the Edinboro Fighting Scot Duals. No. 12 Ohio State opens the season in Buffalo, N.Y., on Sunday at the Buffalo Open. No. 19 Northwestern heads to Palo Alto, Calif., for duals against Stanford and Menlo to round out the weekend's competition.

The Big Ten boasts nine teams ranked in the preseason NWCA/USA Today and InterMat polls, including five top-10 teams. The conference also lays claim to 54 wrestlers ranked in InterMat's individual top-20 polls.

Each team's season outlook can be found below.

Michigan State
Ohio State
Penn State