Big Ten Men's Cross Country Opens 2007 Season this Weekend

Aug. 31, 2007

The men's Big Ten cross country season opens Friday with Indiana and Ohio State competing in the Indiana Community 5K in Bloomington. The Penn State harriers will compete in the Lock Haven Invitational, while Iowa travels to Western Illinois and Michigan State to Mount Pleasant, Mich., for the Drenth Memorial hosted by Central Michigan.


For the fifth-straight year, the Wisconsin (142 points) men's cross country team finished in the top two of the NCAA Championships after a second-place finish in 2006. Completing the Big Ten contingent was Michigan State (473) in 17th and Iowa (580) in 28th. The Big Ten also boasts four returning All-Americans in Wisconsin's Stuart Eagon (11th), Tim Nelson (18th), Matt Withrow (24th) and Minnesota's Chris Rombough (14th).