All-Big Ten Men's Cross Country Runners Announced as Wisconsin Claims its Ninth Straight Team Title

Oct. 28, 2007

For the ninth straight year, Wisconsin takes home the Big Ten Championships Team title.  Leading the charge for UW was junior Matt Withrow placing first overall in a time of 23:44.37.  The Badger senior earns a spot on the All Big Ten First Team.  Joining Withrow with first team honors is junior Stu Eagon.  Eagon crossed the tape fifth in a time of 23:55.35.


Minnesota claims the second-place position lead by individual runner-up Hassan Mead.  The Gopher freshman finished the race in a time of 23:47.70, just missing first-place by less than four seconds.  Teammate and last year's champion Chris Rombough finished the day fourth overall covering the course in 23:54.48.  Both Gopher harriers earn All-Big Ten First Team honors.




Ohio State rounds out the top three with a third-place finish.  Junior Jeff See crossed the finish line fifth, timing in at 23:56.43 earning First Team All-Big Ten honors.  See received help from senior John Ealy who ended the day 11th, picking up second team accolades.


Illinois Senior Trent Hoerr ended his Big Ten career with a third-place finish timed at 23:49.39.  Hoerr improves 62 spots from last year's placing, and earns a spot on the All-Big Ten First Team




First Team

Matt Withrow, Jr., Wisconsin

Hassan Mead, Fr., Minnesota

Trent Hoerr, Sr., Illinois

Chris Rombough, Jr., Minnesota

Stuart Eagon, Jr., Wisconsin

Jeff See, Jr., Ohio State

Craig Forys, Fr., Michigan


Second Team

Andrew Lacy So., Wisconsin

Landon Peacock, Fr., Wisconsin

Brandon Bethke, So., Wisconsin

John Ealy, Sr., Ohio State

Forrest Tahdooahnippah, Sr., Minnesota

Alexander Bailey, Sr., Ohio State

Cole Hardacre, Fr., Indiana