Big Ten Announces Men's Cross Country Individual Awards

Wisconsin's Mick Byrne was named Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive season.

Oct. 30, 2012

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The Big Ten Conference has announced its individual award winners for men’s cross country. Indiana’s Zach Mayhew was a unanimous choice for Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Wisconsin head coach Mick Byrne reeled in his fifth consecutive Coach of the Year award and Purdue’s Matt McClintock was named Freshman of the Year.

Mayhew takes home Athlete of the Year laurels after finishing in first place at the Big Ten Championships last weekend, running the 8,000-meter course in 23:29. Mayhew’s award marks the sixth Athlete of the Year honor in Indiana history and the first since Bob Kennedy won his last of four individual honors in 1992.

After guiding Wisconsin to its 14th consecutive and 46th overall Big Ten title, Byrne collects his fifth straight Coach of the Year award. Byrne’s squad placed four runners in the top 10, as the Badgers closed the competition with 33 team points. It marks the 12th consecutive season a Wisconsin coach has won the award.

McClintock led all Big Ten freshmen at the conference championships, placing eighth en route to Freshman of the Year and second-team All-Big Ten laurels. The Boilermaker newcomer is the first Purdue runner to earn the award.

The Big Ten also recognized 11 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

Athlete of the Year: ZACH MAYHEW, Indiana
Coach of the Year: Mick Byrne, Wisconsin
Freshman of the Year: Matthew McClintock, Purdue

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jannis Toepfer, Illinois
Adam Behnke, Indiana
Ben Witt, Iowa
Zach Ornelas, Michigan
Caleb Rhynard, Michigan State
Derek Storkel, Minnesota
Jarren Heng, Nebraska
Donny Roys, Ohio State
Nick Scarpello, Penn State
Matt McClintock, Purdue
Maverick Darling, Wisconsin

CAPS indicate unanimous selection