Wisconsin Captures 11th-Straight Big Ten Championship Crown

Nov. 1, 2009

For the 11th-straight season the Wisconsin men’s cross country team captured the Big Ten Championship title in dominating fashion, placing five of their runners among the top eight finishers to best the field by an astonishing 65 points. The Badgers extended their own conference record for consecutive championships, collecting 26 team points en route to the conference crown on Sunday at the Penn State University White Golf Course.

Wisconsin has now won 43 Big Ten team titles, an incredible 29 more than Michigan State, which owns the next-most championships with 14. The Badgers' recent domination of the Big Ten has produced 28 team championships in the last 33 years.

Ohio State (91) edged Minnesota (97) for second place in the final team standings, while Indiana and Michigan rounded out the top five teams with 106 and 117 team points, respectively. 

Minnesota junior Hassan Mead captured his second Big Ten individual title in as many seasons, completing the 5.2 mile-course a full five seconds ahead of the field in 25:00.2 Wisconsin’s Elliot Krause claimed runner-up honors on the strength of a 25:05.9 effort while senior Jeff See paced the Buckeye contingent with a 25:07.3 mark to finish in third.

Below is a list of the first and second All-Big Ten team honorees along with a recap of the event courtesy of team champion Wisconsin.

Complete Results


Big Ten Championship Central

First Team All-Big Ten
Hassan Mead, Minnesota
Elliot Krause, Wisconsin
Jeff See, Ohio State
Maverick Darling, Wisconsin
Mohammed Ahmed, Wisconsin
Zachary Mayhew, Indiana
Craig Miller, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten
Landon Peacock, Wisconsin
Matt Barrett, Minnesota
Andrew Poore, Indiana
Vince McNally, Penn State
Ryan Gasper, Wisconsin
Jesse Luciano, Iowa
Brendon Blacklaws, Michigan