Wisconsin Sweeps Big Ten Men's Cross Country Postseason Awards

Nov. 2, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - After earning its 12th consecutive Big Ten Championships title, the Wisconsin men's cross country team has swept the conference's postseason awards, it was announced on Tuesday. Senior Landon Peacock takes home Athlete of the Year honors, while head coach Mick Byrne receives Coach of the Year accolades and Andrew Shields earns Freshman of the Year status. The conference also announced 10 Sportsmanship Award Honorees, recognizing one student-athlete from each team who distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

Peacock finished in first place at the Big Ten Championships, completing his eight-kilometer home course in 23:41 to pace the Badgers. The senior takes home the 10th men's Athlete of the Year award in program history and the first since Matt Withrow earned the distinction in 2007. Peacock has earned All-Big Ten status in all four of his Big Ten Championships appearances, including two first-team performances.

Byrne reels in his third-straight Coach of the Year award after placing four Badgers in the top six at the Big Ten Championships, leading Wisconsin to its 44th Big Ten title. The honor marks the 10th consecutive year that a Wisconsin coach has won the award dating back to 2001, when former head coach Jerry Schumacher won seven in a row.

Shields earns top honors among conference newcomers after finishing the 8K race in 24:26, good for a 26th-place finish. Shields becomes the second Wisconsin freshman in as many years to earn the award after teammate Maverick Darling won it last season.

The conference's Sportsmanship Award Honorees were Illinois' Colin Mickow, Indiana's Andy Bayer, Iowa's Mark Battista, Michigan's Craig Forys, Michigan State's Patrick Grosskopf, Minnesota's Mike Torchia, Ohio State's Chad Balyo, Penn State's Chris Cipro, Purdue's Cale Allen and Wisconsin's Elliot Krause.

Big Ten Athlete of the Year
Landon Peacock, Wisconsin



Big Ten Coach of the Year
Mick Byrne, Wisconsin

Big Ten Freshman of the Year
Andrew Shields, Wisconsin