Indiana Wins Big Ten Men's Cross Country Title

Nov. 3, 2013

Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championships Results Get Acrobat Reader

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Indiana won its first Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championship since 1980 on Sunday, placing four runners in the top 10 at the Boilermaker Cross Country Course.

Jason Crist placed fifth individually and was the first Hoosier to cross the 8,000-meter (8K) finish line in a time of 24:24.9. Rorey Hunter, Carl Smith and Matthew Schwartzer placed seventh, eighth and 10th, respectively. Indiana collected 51 team points en route to its 14th Big Ten title.

Wisconsin's Malachy Schrobilgen finished first individually, finishing the race in 24:16.9.  Michigan placed second in the team standings with 66 points, while Wisconsin finished third with 71 points.

The complete All-Big Ten teams can be found below.

First Team All-Big Ten
Malachy Schrobilgen, WIS
Matt McClintock, PUR
Matt Fischer, PSU
Caleb Rhynard, MSU
Jason Crist, IND
Jannis Toepfer, ILL
Rorey Hunter, IND

Second Team All-Big Ten
Carl Smith, IND
Mason Ferlic, MICH
Matthew Schwartzer, IND
Morsi Rayyan, MICH
Ben Flanagan, MICH
Michael Van Voorhis, WIS
Alex Hatz, WIS