Big Ten Men's Cross Country Concludes NCAA Regional Competition

Nov. 15, 2010

Big Ten men's cross country concluded NCAA Regional competition on Saturday with Indiana and Wisconsin earning automatic berths to the NCAA Championships. The Badgers took first place in the Great Lakes regional, while the Hoosiers took second. Iowa's Jeff Thode, Michigan's Craig Forys and Michigan State's Patrick Grosskopf all earned individual berths to the national race. Minnesota and Penn State were two of the 13 teams to earn at-large berths to the championships.

Six Big Ten teams finished in the top 10 at the Great Lakes regional, led by Big Ten Champion Wisconsin and Indiana. Ohio State took fourth place, followed by Michigan State in fifth, Michigan in seventh and Purdue in eighth. Five Badgers finished in the top 10, led by Reed Connor in second place.

Penn State took fourth place in the Mid-Atlantic regional, led by Kyle Dawson and Vince McNally, who finished second and third, respectively. Minnesota led the way in the Midwest regional, earning a third-place finish. Illinois followed in fifth, while Iowa took seventh. Thode and Blankenship earned top-10 finishes, taking fifth and seventh, respectively.

The four qualifying Big Ten teams and three qualifying individual runners will compete in the NCAA Championships on Nov. 22 in Terre Haute, Ind.