Big Ten Cross Country Travels to 2012 NCAA Championships

Nov. 16, 2012

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Big Ten cross country sends a strong contingent to the 2012 NCAA Championships, as four men’s teams and four women’s teams travel to Louisville, Ky., on Saturday searching for national titles. Along with the conference teams competing in the event, six men’s and four women’s runners travel individually to the meet.

The women’s race is set to begin at Noon ET, while the men’s race will start at approximately 1:15 p.m. ET at the E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park. The championships can be seen live on

Defending NCAA Champion Wisconsin leads the group of Big Ten men’s teams at the championships after winning its 11th straight Great Lakes Regional title last weekend. Fourth-ranked Wisconsin, along with No. 13 Michigan, earned automatic berths to the championships, while No. 24 Indiana and No. 30 Michigan State received at-large bids. Illinois’ Hunter Mickow and Jannis Topfer, Ohio State’s Donny Roys, Penn State’s Sam Masters and Purdue’s Johnnie Guy and Matt McClintock will compete in the championships individually.

Big Ten Champion Michigan, along with Michigan State and Penn State, enter the women’s championships after clinching automatic berths at their respective regional championships. Joining the sixth-ranked Wolverines, ninth-ranked Nittany Lions and 13th-ranked Spartans at the meet is No. 25 Minnesota. Indiana’s Kelsey Duerksen, Iowa’s Mareike Schrulle and Wisconsin’s Ashley Beutler and Gabi Anzalone are set to travel to the event individually.

Big Ten teams have reeled in 13 men’s team championships and two women’s team titles. Ten Big Ten men’s runners and seven women’s runners have earned individual national championships.