NCAA Cross Country Championships Field Announced

Illinois' Jannis Toepfer

Nov. 16, 2013

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Six Big Ten women’s cross country teams, three men’s cross country squads and six individual participants earned bids to the NCAA Cross Country Championships, to be held Nov. 23 in Terre Haute, Ind.

The No. 14 Michigan women’s team won its third consecutive Great Lakes Regional title on Friday, earning an automatic berth to the women’s championships, while No. 16 Minnesota claimed a bid following its second-place finish at the Midwest Regional. Earning at-large bids to the championships were Indiana, No. 6 Michigan State, No. 30 Penn State and Wisconsin. Illinois’ Alyssa Schneider and Ohio State’s Katie Borchers also qualified for the meet.

On the men’s side, No. 16 Michigan and No. 19 Wisconsin finished first and second, respectively, at the Great Lakes Regional on Friday, securing bids to the men’s championships, while No. 11 Indiana received an at-large bid. Illinois’ Jannis Toepfer, Michigan State’s Caleb Rhynard, Penn State’s Matt Fischer and Purdue’s Matthew McClintock also qualified for the championships.

The NCAA Championships will be held at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind., on Nov. 23. The men’s 10K race will begin at Noon ET, followed by the women’s 6K race at 1:15 p.m. ET.