2010 Big Ten Men's Cross Country Season in Review

Big Ten Athlete of the Year Landon Peacock

Big Ten Athlete of the Year Landon Peacock

Dec. 8, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format

The 2010 Big Ten men's cross country season closed on a high note, with two teams finishing in the top 10 and six individuals earning All-America status at the NCAA Cross Country Championships on Nov. 22. Big Ten Champion Wisconsin took third place, placing three individuals in the top 20, while Indiana finished seventh at the national championships. Minnesota and Penn State also competed in the final race of the season, finishing 27th and 30th, respectively.

The third-place finish marks the 14th consecutive top-10 performance by the Badgers and their highest finish since taking second in 2006. Indiana's seventh-place performance marks the first top-10 finish for the Hoosiers since 1987.

Indiana's Andrew Poore, Iowa's Jeff Thode, Minnesota's Ben Blankenship and Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed, Maverick Darling and Landon Peacock each earned All-America status after finishing in the top 40.

Peacock adds to his collection of awards after being named Big Ten Athlete of the Year. Wisconsin head coach Mick Byrne received Big Ten and Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year, while Badger newcomer Andrew Shields picked up conference Freshman of the Year honors. The conference title is Wisconsin's 12th in a row, extending its Big Ten record.



Multimedia Store