Minnesota's Wagner and Wiebke Awarded Big Ten Medal of Honor

May 1, 2018

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The University of Minnesota Athletic Department announced Carlie Wagner of the women's basketball team and Derek Wiebke of the men's cross country and track and field teams were awarded the prestigious Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor at the 2018 Golden Goldys held at TCF Bank Stadium on Monday night.

For the second-straight year, the Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients were also announced at the Golden Goldys as basketball's Carlie Wagner and Derek Wiebke received the honors. The conference's most exclusive award was the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence.

Wagner amassed 2,215 points and finished her career third on Minnesota's all-time career scoring list. A two-time Third Team Academic All-American, Wagner was also a three-time All-Big Ten selection, including first team her senior season.

Wiebke was the 2017 Big Ten Indoor Mile champion, All-Big Ten First Team selection. His top mile performance of 4:01.85 ranks fourth-all time in Minnesota history. Off the track, Wiebke was Minnesota's Student-Athlete Advisory Council president, a multiple Academic All-American and All-Big Ten selection.