Big Ten Announces Outdoor Track & Field Individual Honors
June 13, 2018

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2018 Big Ten outdoor track & field individual award winners on Wednesday. For the men, Penn State’s Isaiah Harris was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year, while Ohio State’s Zack Bazile claimed Field Athlete of the Year and Eric Harrison earned Freshman of the Year honors. For the women, Purdue’s Devynne Charlton earned Track Athlete of the Year for the second season in a row. Wisconsin’s Georgia Ellenwood was named Field Athlete of the Year and Minnesota’s Ashley Ramacher earned Freshman of the Year honors. 

Harris claimed the 2018 800-meter NCAA title in Eugene with the second fastest time of his career, 1:44.76, earning All-America honors in the event. The junior also took home the Big Ten title in the 800-meter event with a time of 1:45.31 in May, his sixth 800-meter Big Ten title between the indoor and outdoor seasons. The Lewiston, Maine, native also earned Big Ten outdoor track and field Athlete of the Championships plaudits this season and becomes the first Penn State standout to earn Big Ten Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year honors.

Bazile claimed Ohio State’s first national title in 25 years with a program record-breaking long jump of 8.37 meters (27-5.5) at the NCAA Championships. The four-time USTFCCCA first team All-American and three-time Big Ten Champion also took gold in the same event at the Big Ten Championships with a final mark of 8.03 meters. Bazile is the first Buckeye to be named Big Ten Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year since Michael Hartfield in 2011.

Harrison collects Ohio State’s fifth Freshman of the Year honor and first since 2013 after helping the Buckeyes to a national runner-up finish in the 4x100 meter relay at NCAA Championships with a time of 38.75 seconds. In May, the freshman claimed the 200-meter Big Ten title with final time of 20.39 seconds and helped Ohio State to a first place finish in the 4x100 meter relay with a time of 38.93 seconds, breaking the Big Ten Outdoor Championships record. The Washington, D.C., native also earned USTFCCCA All-American honors.

The Boilermakers’ Charlton earned her seventh first team All-American accolades after finishing as the national runner-up in the 100-meter hurdles. The finish is the best ever by a Purdue woman in the event at the NCAA Championships. The senior, claimed three gold medals at the Big Ten Championships, winning the 100-meter dash (11.22 seconds), 100-meter hurdles (13.07 seconds) and was a member of the 4x100-meter relay team that finished with a final time of 43.94 seconds. The Nassau, Bahamas, native becomes Purdue’s first track standout to earn the annual honor twice in her career.

Ellenwood was named Wisconsin’s first heptathlon national champion after scoring 6,146 points at the NCAA Championships at Hayward Field last week. The eight-time All-American scored a historic 6,173 points in the heptathlon at the Big Ten Championships, earning her the title and breaking the Big Ten Championships heptathlon record. The Langley, B.C., native is the No. 10 performer in NCAA history in the heptathlon and holds the Big Ten Conference record in the event. Ellenwood becomes the second Badger to earn Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year honors and first since Kelsey Card in 2016.

Ramacher earns the fifth Freshman of the Year laurel in program history, after earning second team All-American and second team All-Big Ten honors in the high jump. She was an NCAA Championship qualifier in the high jump and tied for 12th (1.73m, 5-08.00) in Eugene. The Eden Prairie, Minn., native advanced to the NCAA Championships after tying for 11th in the high jump (1.75m, 5-08.75) at the NCAA West Preliminaries. She finished as the Big Ten runner-up, clearing a career-best 1.82 meters (5-11.50) at the Big Ten Championships.

The complete list of award winners can be found below.


Track Athlete of the Year
Isaiah Harris, Penn State

Field Athlete of the Year
Zack Bazile, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year
Eric Harrison, Ohio State


Track Athlete of the Year
Devynne Charlton, Purdue

Field Athlete of the Year
Georgia Ellenwood, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year
Ashley Ramacher, Minnesota