Big Ten Track & Field Programs Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors
July 26, 2018

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference was well-represented among the numerous academic honors announced by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Thursday.

Seven Big Ten men’s track & field programs and 11 conference women’s track & field programs earned USTFCCCA All-Academic Team designations for the 2017-18 indoor and outdoor seasons. To qualify, the cumulative GPA for all students on the institution’s NCAA squad list for indoor and/or outdoor track & field must be 3.0 or higher.

This year’s Big Ten USTFCCCA Men’s All-Academic Team selections are Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Rutgers and Wisconsin. The conference’s USTFCCCA Women’s All-Academic Team honorees are Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Penn State, Purdue, Rutgers and Wisconsin.

In addition, 161 Big Ten track & field students (62 men, 99 women) were chosen for USTFCCCA academic recognition following the 2017-18 indoor and outdoor seasons.

Leading this group was Michigan senior Ben Flanagan, who was chosen as the USTFCCCA Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year after his victory in the 10,000-meter run at both the Big Ten and NCAA Outdoor Championships earlier this year. Flanagan, who maintains a 3.90 GPA while pursuing his master of social work degree in interpersonal practice and mental health, is the second Wolverine in three years to earn the USTFCCCA honor, with Mason Ferlic receiving the award in 2016.

The USTFCCCA Scholar Athlete of the Year award goes to the highest finishing performers at the NCAA Championships who attained USTFCCCA All-Academic status. Those students who win NCAA individual titles rank higher in the tie-breaking process and cumulative GPA is weighted as the final advantage. Separate awards are given to students competing in track and field events during both the indoor and outdoor seasons.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, students must compile a 3.25 cumulative GPA or better and either finished the indoor regular season in the top 96 in an individual event (top 48 in a relay) or participated in any round of the NCAA Outdoor Championships (including preliminary rounds).

The following Big Ten students earned 2017-18 USTFCCCA All-Academic distinction on Thursday, while the full list of team and individual honorees can be found by clicking here and here:

Parker Deloye, Illinois
Matsen Dziedzic, Illinois
Joe Haight, Illinois
Cole Henderson, Illinois
Michael Hyc, Illinois
David Kendziera, Illinois
Denis O’Callaghan, Illinois
Jonathan Wells, Illinois
Tony Zea, Illinois
Chris Douglas, Iowa
Andrew Jatis, Iowa
Carter Lilly, Iowa
Matt Manternach, Iowa
Tysen VanDraska, Iowa
Aaron Baumgarten, Michigan
Ben Flanagan, Michigan (USTFCCCA Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year)
Taylor McLaughlin, Michigan
Connor Mora, Michigan
Matt Plowman, Michigan
Noah Gary, Michigan State
Max Knoblock, Michigan State
Winter Romeyn, Michigan State
Clark Ruiz, Michigan State
Alec Basten, Minnesota
Dawson LaRance, Minnesota
Ryan Lockard, Minnesota
Shane Streich, Minnesota
Jonathan Tharaldsen, Minnesota
John Uchytil, Minnesota
Derek Wiebke, Minnesota
Jace Anderson, Nebraska
Landon Bartel, Nebraska
Sam Bransby, Nebraska
Kevin Cahoy, Nebraska
Kaiwan Culmer, Nebraska
Kino Dunkley, Nebraska
Nick Percy, Nebraska
Zach Podraza, Nebraska
Spencer Powell, Nebraska
Luke Siedhoff, Nebraska
Asa Burke, Ohio State
Cole Goreski, Ohio State
Max Seipel, Ohio State
Michael Biddle, Penn State
Dan Chisena, Penn State
Luke Grodeska, Penn State
Jordan Makins, Penn State
Mark Porter, Penn State
Jonathon Yohman, Penn State
Matt Krezmer, Rutgers
John Mooers, Rutgers
Paul Afflitto, Wisconsin
Riley Budde, Wisconsin
Rashid Coulibaly, Wisconsin
Ben Eidenschink, Wisconsin
Tim Guthrie, Wisconsin
Joe Hardy, Wisconsin
Zach Lorbeck, Wisconsin
Josh McDonald, Wisconsin
Tyson Miehe, Wisconsin
Trent Nytes, Wisconsin
Sawyer Smith, Wisconsin

Amira Aduma, Illinois
Nicole Choquette, Illinois
Rebecca Craddock, Illinois
Sade Hargrove, Illinois
Sara McKeeman, Illinois
Talia Buss, Iowa
Jennifer Kimbro, Iowa
Mallory King, Iowa
Aubrianna Lantrip, Iowa
Marissa Mueller, Iowa
Sarah Plock, Iowa
Sommer Sharpe, Iowa
Andrea Shine, Iowa
Emma O’Hara, Maryland
Peyton Wade, Maryland
Katt Miner, Michigan
Claire Borchers, Michigan
Erin Finn, Michigan
Aaron Howell, Michigan
Courtney Jacobsen, Michigan
Hannah Meier, Michigan
Gina Sereno, Michigan
Madeline Trevisan, Michigan
Sarah Uhlian, Michigan
Carlyn Arteaga, Michigan State
Bridget Blake, Michigan State
Katelyn Daniels, Michigan State
Ellen DiPietro, Michigan State
Lynsie Gram, Michigan State
Kayla Kavulich, Michigan State
Jade Madison, Michigan State
Dillon McClintock, Michigan State
Erin McDonald, Michigan State
Taylor Mullins, Michigan State
Jeralyn Poe, Michigan State
Karrigan Smith, Michigan State
Bethany Hasz, Minnesota
Megan Hasz, Minnesota
Lexi Kiefer, Minnesota
Val Larson, Minnesota
Titania Markland, Minnesota
Shay Nielsen, Minnesota
Temi Ogunrinde, Minnesota
Kiley Sabin, Minnesota
Rachel Schow, Minnesota
Emma Spagnola, Minnesota
Madeline Strandemo, Minnesota
Heta Tuuri, Minnesota
Taylor Wiebke, Minnesota
Shanique Wright, Minnesota
Alice Akers, Nebraska
Ashleigh Carr, Nebraska
Maddie Holland, Nebraska
Petra Luteran, Nebraska
Angela Mercurio, Nebraska
Alex Meyer, Nebraska
Lara Omerzu, Nebraska
Danie Plank, Nebraska
Toni Tupper, Nebraska
Ieva Turke, Nebraska
Brittni Wolczyk, Nebraska
Kelly O’Brien, Northwestern
Aubrey Roberts, Northwestern
Aziza Ayoub, Ohio State
Courtney Clody, Ohio State
Abby Nichols, Ohio State
Julia Rizk, Ohio State
Mikaela Seibert, Ohio State
Annie Ubbing, Ohio State
Karrington Winters, Ohio State
Tessa Barrett, Penn State
Rosemary Campbell, Penn State
Rachael DeCecco, Penn State
Madeline Holmberg, Penn State
Jillian Hunsberger, Penn State
Greta Lindsley, Penn State
Megan McCloskey, Penn State
Hannah Mulhern, Penn State
Kathryn Munks, Penn State
Danae Rivers, Penn State
Marissa Sheva, Penn State
Stephanie Sievers, Penn State
Madison Smith, Penn State
Victoria Tachinski, Penn State
Gabrielle Broschard, Purdue
Savannah Carson, Purdue
Rebecca Coan, Purdue
Micaela Hazlewood, Purdue
Molly Leppelmeier, Purdue
Samara Miller, Purdue
Tessa Sheets, Purdue
Rhonda Rogombe, Rutgers
Taylor Amann, Wisconsin
Hanna Barton, Wisconsin
Georgia Ellenwood, Wisconsin
Emma Haugen, Wisconsin
Jane McCurry, Wisconsin
Alicia Monson, Wisconsin
Chinne Okoronkwo, Wisconsin