Michigan Wins Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championship
Oct. 29, 2017

2017 Big Ten Championship Results

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Michigan men's cross country program won its 11th Big Ten Championship on Sunday with 71 points at the IU Championship Cross Country Course. The Wolverines claimed their first Big Ten team title since 2015.

Wisconsin sophomore Oliver Hoare won the individual Big Ten Championship with an 8K time of 24:09.3. Wisconsin junior Joe Hardy finished in second place with an 8K time of 24:13.2 and Michigan State's Clark Ruiz placed third, crossing the finish line in 24:13.5.

Michigan was paced by Ben Flanagan, who posted a time of 24:16.2 to finish sixth overall and Wyatt McGuire, who was 10th with a time of 24:24.1. Michigan State finished in second in team standings with 82 points, with Ruiz's third place finish and Morgan Beadlescomb placing fifth crossing the line at 24:14.1. Wisconsin finished third with 88 points, led by Hoare and Hardy.

Illinois finished in fourth place (113), led by Jonathan Davis' time of 24:20.6, good for a ninth-place individual finish. Purdue rounded out the top-five with 133 team points, including a seventh-place individual finish by Jaret Carpenter (24:17.2).

The first and second All-Big Ten teams can be found below. The Freshman and Coach of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, Oct. 31. Athlete of the Year will be announced the Tuesday following NCAA Championships. The top seven finishers at the Big Ten Championships earn first-team All-Big Ten honors, while the eighth through 14th place finishers are named second-team All-Big Ten.

First-Team All-Big Ten
Oliver Hoare, Wisconsin
Joe Hardy, Wisconsin
Clark Ruiz, Michigan State
Ben Veatch, Indiana
Morgan Beadlescomb, Michigan State
Ben Flanagan, Michigan
Jaret Carpenter, Purdue

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Obsa Ali, Minnesota
Jonathan Davis, Illinois
Wyatt McGuire, Nebraska
Aaron Baumgarten, Michigan
Colin Abert, Penn State
Jesse Reiser, Illinois
Connor Mora, Michigan