Big Ten Men's Cross Country Individual Awards Announced
Oct. 31, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the individual award winners for Coach of the Year and Freshman of the Year for the 2017 men’s cross country season on Tuesday with Michigan’s Kevin Sullivan named Big Ten Coach of the Year and Purdue’s Curt Eckstein tabbed Big Ten Freshman of the Year. 

Sullivan was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second time in his career after guiding the Wolverines to their 11th Big Ten title on Sunday. Michigan finished the conference championships with 71 team points, including three of the top-fourteen finishers at the IU Championship Cross Country Course in Bloomington, Ind.

Eckstein claimed unanimous Big Ten Freshman of the Year accolades after placing sixteenth at the Big Ten Championships. He was the first conference freshman to cross the 8K finish line, posting a time of 24:38.0. The Oldenburg, Ind., native becomes the second Boilermaker to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors, and the first since Matt McClintock in 2012.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

The Big Ten Athlete of the Year will be announced the Tuesday following NCAA Championships. The Championships will be held in Louisville, Ky. on Nov. 18.

Freshman of the Year: CURT ECKSTEIN, Purdue
Coach of the Year: Kevin Sullivan, Michigan

Sportsmanship Award honorees:
Garrett Lee, Illinois
Kyle Mau, Indiana
Brandon Cooley, Iowa
Ben Flanagan, Michigan
Clark Ruiz, Michigan State
Evan Ferlic, Minnesota
Austin Post, Nebraska
Aaron Wood, Ohio State
Robert Hill, Penn State
Jaret Carpenter, Purdue
Luke Wiley, Rutgers
Ben Eidenschink, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS