Championship Game Notes: Purdue 64, Ohio State 52

March 5, 2007

Box Score |  Notes

Game 10 • Sunday, March 4, 2007
Conseco Fieldhouse • Indianapolis, Ind.
#2 PURDUE 64 (28-5), #1 OHIO STATE 52 (28-3),
Purdue captured its sixth Big Ten Tournament title in the event's 13-year history, the most of any other school in the conference. The last Big Ten Tournament title for the Boilermakers came in 2004 over Penn State.

The 12-point margin of victory was only the second time that the championship game has been decided by 10 points or more. The first time was also a Purdue victory, a 59-49 win over Penn State in 1998. The 13-year margin of victory in the title game now stands at 5.2 points.

Sharon Versyp, in her first season at Purdue, becomes the latest of four coaches to win the Big Ten Tournament championship in their first year at the institution. The two coaches at Purdue prior to Versyp also accomplished the feat. Carolyn Peck (1998) and Kristy Curry (2000) claimed tournament victories. Lisa Bluder of Iowa was the third, in 2001.

Ohio State is now 20-12 in the Big Ten Tournament. They are 1-3 overall in the championship game.

Purdue has a record of 25-7 in the Big Ten Tournament and is now 6-3 in the tournament finale.

The Boilermakers hold a 2-1 advantage over Ohio State in the Big Ten Tournament championship game. Purdue's previous tournament win over the Buckeyes came in the 2003 final, 67-65.

The No. 2 seed is now 3-1 against No. 1 seeds in the championship game of the Big Ten Tournament. Purdue has two of those victories as a No. 2 seed.

The No. 1 seed is 3-4 all-time in the championship game of the Big Ten Tournament while the No. 2 seed is 5-2 in the title game.

Purdue is 5-2 all-time against Ohio State in the Big Ten Tournament. In the all-time series between the two schools, Ohio State owns a 31-24 advantage.

Ohio State is 4-3 this season against ranked opponents while Purdue is now 5-3.

Ohio State's 20 first-half points was the second lowest total in a half in Big Ten Tournament championship game history. The record is 19, set in 2006 by Purdue when it trailed Ohio State, 36-19, at halftime.



Jessica Davenport is now the Big Ten Tournament record holder in both free throws made and free throws attempted in a single tournament. She made 26 from the free throw line to move past former Buckeye Katie Smith, who tallied 25 in 1995. Davenport also attempted 37 throughout the tournament, passing Purdue's Shereka Wright, who attempted 32 in 2003.

Davenport also ranks fourth in scoring for a single Big Ten Tournament with a total of 84 points.

On the individual career Big Ten Tournament scoring list, Davenport's 170 points rank fifth all time while Katie Geralds' 163 points put her sixth on the list.

Geralds became the third Purdue player to earn Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player Honors. Stephanie White was the first, in 1999 and Shereka Wright won twice, in 2003 and 2004. Additionally, Geralds was named to the All-Tournament Team for the third time in her career (also in 2004 and 2006).

Purdue's Lindsay Wisdom-Hylton pulled down 34 rebounds during the 2007 Big Ten Tournament to rank fifth all-time on the single tournament list.

FahKara Malone dished out 21 assists for Purdue in the tournament, tying for fourth on the single tournament list.

With her 21 point and 12 rebounds, Wisdom-Hylton tallied her second double-double of the tournament, her eighth of the season and the 11th of her career.

Davenport scored 22 points in the contest, moving her into fifth place on the Big Ten career scoring list, passing Lindsay Whalen of Minnesota. Davenport now has 2,290 career points.
Geralds sank three 3-point field goals to become Purdue's single season leader with 74 treys this season. Beth Jones held the previous record with 71, set in 2002-03.