Celebrating 10 Years of the Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament in Indianapolis

Dec. 30, 2004

On March 3, 1995, No. 9 seed Iowa battled eighth-seeded Minnesota in the first Big Ten Tournament game ever to be played in Indianapolis. The Hawkeyes defeated the Golden Gophers, 57-44, after outscoring Minnesota in the second half, 30-17. Iowa's Tia Jackson tallied 19 points and seven rebounds, while Tangela Smith posted 14 points, six boards and three blocked shots. Lori Lawler and Cara Pearson led Minnesota with 13 and 12 points, respectively. The Hawkeyes would eventually fall in the second round to top-seeded Penn State, 69-62, and end their season 11-16.

The inaugural Tournament was played at Hinkle Fieldhouse in 1995 and was won by Penn State. The Lady Lions defeated Ohio State, 68-63, for the Championship. The Tournament remained at Hinkle Fieldhouse until 1996, when it then relocated to the RCA Dome from 1997-99. Prior to the inception of women's athletics in the Big Ten Conference, a double-elimination tournament was held at Michigan State in 1982, however the 1995 Tournament is referred to as the first official Conference Tournament.

Celebrating 10 Years in Indianapolis