Battle of the Big Ten Co-Champs to be Aired on Comcast SportsNet Sunday

Jan. 20, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Last year, it was simply an unbelievable environment.  Michigan State used the energy provided by a school-record crowd to post one of the biggest wins in its history.

Kristin Haynie made two free throws with 5.4 seconds left and the ninth-ranked Spartans beat No. 2 Ohio State, 66-64, in front of 14,066 fans at Breslin Center on Feb. 20.  The arena began filling up about two hours before tipoff, and the fans were loud throughout the game. Students ran onto the court after the final buzzer.
Both teams would go on to win their final regular-season conference game and share the 2004-05 Big Ten Championship.  Michigan State continued its success by claiming the Big Ten Tournament title and participating in the NCAA national championship game.

This year's rematch, pits the No. 7/7 Buckeyes against the No. 12/14 Spartans in the Breslin Center.  National Player of the Year candidates Jessica Davenport of Ohio State and Liz Shimek of Michigan State will square off in the highly-anticipated battle.

Comcast SportsNet Chicago, along with Comcast Local Detroit, will air the top-15 matchup live at 1 p.m. ET.  Dave Eanet will handle play-by-play duties with former Penn State All-American and current head coach of the WNBA's Minnesota Lynx, Suzie McConnell Serio, providing commentary.

Michigan State has won the last 23 games at the Breslin Center, which ranks as the fifth-longest streak in the nation.

For more notes on Big Ten Women's Basketball, download the updated weekly release in PDF format.