Celebrating 10 Years of the Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament in Indianapolis

Jan. 27, 2005

On March 10, 2003, No. 3 seed Purdue earned its fourth Big Ten Tournament title with a 67-65 win over fourth-seeded Ohio State.  The Boilermakers were led by Shereka Wright and Mary Jo Noon, who each turned in 19-point, 11-rebound performances.  Wright also added six assists en route to earning Tournament MVP honors.  The Championship game, which marked the Boilermakers' sixth appearance in the seven years, was played in front of 7,847 fans and brought the total attendance mark for the 2003 Tournament to 30,660 - the second highest mark in the League's postseason history.  After last year's Tournament, which was won by Purdue, the 2003 total attendance figure now ranks third in the event's history. 

Ohio State was led by then-sophomore Caity Matter's game-high 21 points on 7-of-16 shooting.  Matter connected on 5-of-13 three-point shots, which gave her a Tournament record of 31 attempts from beyond the arc.  Kim Wilburn posted 16 points, six rebounds and five assists, while DiDi Reynolds scored 11.  Courtney Coleman also set a Tournament record for field goal percentage, as she was 24-of-32 for .750 in three games. 

The Buckeyes, who dropped to 21-9 after the loss in their first Big Ten Tournament final, would go on to the second round of the NCAA Tournament and finish 22-10.  Purdue improved to 26-5 with the win and would continue to the NCAA Elite Eight before finishing the year 29-4.

Celebrating 10 Years in Indianapolis