Four Big Ten Teams Earn Selection to 2010 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship

March 15, 2010


PARK RIDGE, Ill. – Four Big Ten women’s basketball teams have been selected to the 2010 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship, the NCAA selection committee announced on Monday. Iowa, Michigan State, Ohio State and Wisconsin will all vie for the national title when competition begins on Saturday, March 20.

Ohio State earned the Big Ten’s highest seed at No. 2 in the Dayton Regional and will face No. 15 St. Francis (Pa.) on Sunday at 12:06 p.m. ET at the Petersen Events Center in Pittsburgh, Pa. The Buckeyes are making their eighth consecutive and 19th overall trip to the NCAA Tournament and could advance to play either No. 7 Mississippi State or No. 10 Middle Tennessee on Tuesday. Ohio State won the Big Ten’s regular-season and tournament titles and is led by three-time Big Ten Player of the Year Jantel Lavender.

Michigan State was named the No. 5 seed in the Kansas City Regional and will open NCAA play against No. 12 Bowling Green on Saturday at 12:11 p.m. ET at Freedom Hall in Louisville, Ky. A win would face the Spartans against No. 4 Kentucky or No. 13 Liberty. Michigan State is making its second consecutive NCAA appearance and its seventh in the last eight years.

Wisconsin earned its first selection to the NCAA Championship since 2002, earning the No. 7 seed in the Kansas City Regional. The Badgers will face No. 10 Vermont in first-round action, playing Sunday at 12:21 p.m. ET at the Joyce Center in Notre Dame, Ind. With a win, Wisconsin would advance to play No. 2 Notre Dame or No. 15 Cleveland State. The Badgers’ NCAA appearance is the seventh in program history.

Rounding out the Big Ten’s contingent, Iowa is the No. 8 seed in the Sacramento Regional and will face No. 9 Rutgers on Saturday at 8:16 p.m. ET at Maples Pavilion in Stanford, Calif. A win would pit the Hawkeyes with No. 1 Stanford or No. 16 UC Riverside. Iowa is making its 19th overall NCAA Championship appearance and its fourth in the last five years. The tournament bid is the Hawkeyes’ third consecutive.



The Big Ten places at least four teams in the NCAA Championship for the 17th time in the past 18 seasons, including each of the last three years. Iowa, Michigan State and Ohio State all made the field of 64 last year, while the Hawkeyes have earned spots in the last three tournaments, and the Buckeyes are appearing in their eighth straight bracket.

The 2010 NCAA Women’s Final Four will be held April 4-6 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.

Complete Bracket