AP All-Americans

March 28, 2017

Five Big Ten Conference women’s basketball students were selected for Associated Press All-America honors, it was announced Monday afternoon by the national media outlet.

Maryland’s Brionna Jones was a first-team selection, while Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell earned second-team honors and Maryland’s Shatori Walker-Kimbrough was a third-team choice. In addition, Michigan State’s Tori Jankoska and Northwestern’s Nia Coffey received honorable mention accolades.

Jones, who is a finalist for the Naismith Award as the national player of the year, finished her career with a Big Ten-record .650 career field goal percentage, eclipsing the previous mark of .608 set by Purdue’s Camille Cooper from 1998-2001. Jones also ranks fourth in Big Ten history with 1,209 rebounds.

Mitchell, who also is a finalist for the Wade Trophy and Naismith Award, was named to the five-person John R. Wooden Award All-America Team on Monday, making her a finalist for that honor as well. She already ranks fifth in Big Ten history with 2,553 career points heading into her senior season in 2017-18. She also holds the Big Ten record with 368 career three-point field goals made, topping the previous standard of 365 by Penn State’s Maggie Lucas from 2010-14.

Walker-Kimbrough owns the Big Ten record with a .459 career three-point percentage, outdistancing the prior standard of .428 set by Ohio State’s Brittany Johnson from 2008-11. Walker-Kimbrough also ranks 18th in conference history with 2,156 career points.

Jankoska holds the Michigan State career scoring record and stands 14th in the Big Ten record books with 2,212 career points. She will join Walker-Kimbrough in representing the Big Ten at the Marines’ Women’s 3-Point Championship at 10 p.m. (ET) Thursday at GCU Arena in Phoenix. The event will be televised live on ESPN.

Coffey graduates as Northwestern’s career leader in scoring and rebounding, ranking 11th in Big Ten history in career points (2,287) and seventh in conference annals in career rebounds (1,183).

For the complete list of this year’s Associated Press All-Americans, CLICK HERE.