Big Ten Announces Women's Basketball Sportsmanship Award Honorees

April 11, 2005

PARK RIDGE, IL - The Big Ten Conference office announced today honorees from each of the League's 11 women's basketball teams for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.  In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Honorees for women's basketball are Illinois' Maggie Acuna, Indiana's Leah Enterline, Iowa's Jamie Cavey, Michigan's Krista Clement, Michigan State's Kristin Haynie, Minnesota's April Calhoun, Northwestern's Samantha McComb, Ohio State's Jessica Davenport, Penn State's Tanisha Wright, Purdue's Emily Heikes and Wisconsin's Ebba Gebisa.

These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

2004-05 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honorees (Women's Basketball)

Maggie Acuna, Illinois
Leah Enterline, Indiana
Jamie Cavey, Iowa
Krista Clement, Michigan
Kristin Haynie, Michigan State
April Calhoun, Minnesota
Samantha McComb, Northwestern
Jessica Davenport, Ohio State
Tanisha Wright, Penn State
Emily Heikes, Purdue
Ebba Gebisa, Wisconsin