Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award Nominee -- Jantel Lavender, Ohio State

Jantel Lavender is Ohio State's nominee for the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award.

June 16, 2011

Through Friday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 22 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on the Big Ten Network’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Lavender became the first men’s or women’s basketball player in conference history to win Player of the Year honors for four consecutive seasons. She was named an All-American by the USBWA and Associated Press in 2011 and was selected fifth overall in the 2011 WNBA Draft. Lavender is the Big Ten’s all-time leading rebounder and is one of just two players in conference history with over 2,800 career points. She set an NCAA record for most consecutive games with 10 or more points, scoring in double digits in each of her 136 career games. Click HERE for more information on Jantel.


Ashley Benson, Indiana Volleyball

Derek Drouin, Indiana Track & Field

Kachine Alexander, Iowa Basketball

Vince India, Iowa Golf

Emily MacLeod, Michigan State Cross Country/Track

Greg Jones, Michigan State Football



Kelci Bryant, Minnesota Diving

Michael Richards, Minnesota Swimming

Numa Gulyanamitta, Purdue Golf

David Boudia, Purdue Diving

Blair Brown, Penn State Volleyball

Talor Battle, Penn State Basketball

Melissa Fernandez, Illinois Gymnastics

Andrew Riley, Illinois Track & Field