Big Ten Conference Announces Expanded Television Schedule for Women's Basketball

Oct. 3, 2007

Complete Schedule in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced its complete 2007-08 women's basketball schedule today, revealing unprecedented television coverage for its 11 teams. At least 64 regular-season games will be televised nationally or regionally, while every game of the 2008 Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament will reach a national television audience.

The 64-game regular-season broadcast schedule more than doubles last year's television total. When combined with 10 conference tournament games, Big Ten teams will make more than twice as many national television appearances than any other conference in the country.

The Big Ten Network will televise 55 regular-season contests, nationally airing more regular-season women's basketball games than any other network. The Big Ten Network will typically televise games on Mondays, Thursdays and Sunday doubleheaders when the conference season begins in late December. Additionally, nine matchups showcasing Big Ten teams are set to air on CBS, ESPN2, ESPNU and Fox Sports Net.

All 10 games of the 2008 Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament will be televised nationally as the Big Ten Network will broadcast the event's first nine contests, and the title match will air live on ESPN2.

The 2007-08 women's basketball season tips off on Friday, Nov. 9 with seven of the conference's 11 teams in action, including Indiana, Michigan State, Minnesota and Penn State at home.

The Big Ten Network will broadcast its first women's basketball game on Sunday, Nov. 11, as Penn State hosts Pittsburgh live at 4 p.m. ET. Network coverage will continue on Nov. 28 as Iowa hosts Georgia Tech and Northwestern welcomes Wake Forest as part of the inaugural Big Ten/ACC Women's Basketball Challenge. Seven of the Challenge's 11 contests will reach a national audience with four games slated for the Big Ten Network, two scheduled to appear on ESPN2, and one set to air on ESPNU.

The Big Ten conference schedule opens on Thursday, Dec. 27 with an in-state showdown as Illinois battles Northwestern in Evanston at 7 p.m. CT on the Big Ten Network. The 2007-08 season marks the first time since 1993-94 that each Big Ten team will play an 18-game conference schedule. In all, more conference action will be televised than ever before as 43 of the 99 Big Ten matchups will be broadcast by the Big Ten Network, CBS or ESPN2.

CBS will televise its first of two Big Ten games on Saturday, Jan. 5, as Penn State takes on Michigan State in East Lansing at Noon ET. The following day, CBS will broadcast a non-conference matchup between Purdue and perennial powerhouse Connecticut in West Lafayette at 1:30 p.m. ET.

The Big Ten regular season wraps up on Sunday, March 2 with 10 teams in action. The Big Ten Network will air one of four contests as a "wildcard" selection that will be determined in February.

The complete 2007-08 Big Ten women's basketball schedule can be found by clicking below.

2007-08 Big Ten Women's Basketball Composite Schedule