Six Conferences Create Women's Basketball Super Six Series

Oct. 13, 2010

Six conferences have joined forces to create the Super Six Series women's basketball challenge. Conferences participating are the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big 12, Big Ten, Southeastern and Pacific-10.

The initial year of the series will be 2010-11, and it will continue through at least 2011-12. Two teams from each conference will participate, resulting in six games played in on-campus venues. Each conference will have one home game and one away game annually. Games will be played during the beginning of the season each year.

Michigan State and Minnesota will represent the Big Ten in the inaugural Super Six Series. The Spartans will travel to Baylor on Nov. 19, while the Gophers will host Pittsburgh on Nov. 17, the opening matchup of the Super Six Series which will be broadcast nationally on

"The initiation of the Super Six Series is an outstanding opportunity for our coaches and student-athletes to compete against some of the best competition in the country," Big Ten Associate Commissioner Andrea Williams said. "With compelling matchups and top players, we anticipate this series will provide the participating teams with a unique and competitive preseason experience."

Michigan State finished last season second in the Big Ten at 12-6, with a 23-10 overall record. The Spartans advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament a year ago and finished with 11 wins in their last 14 games of the 2009-10 season. The Bears and Spartans have met once previously, facing off in the 2005 NCAA Championship game, won by Baylor.

Minnesota returns three starters from the 2009-10 squad that finished 13-17 overall and 6-12 in conference play. In addition to welcoming back three of their top four scorers from last year, the Gophers will receive an influx of young talent off the strength of one of the nation's premier recruiting classes. The meeting between Minnesota and Pittsburgh will be the first between the two programs.

Matchups for the 2010-11 Super Six Series can be found on the following page.



2010-11 Super Six Series Matchups
All times are ET

November 17
Pittsburgh at Minnesota, 8 p.m.

November 18
UCLA at Notre Dame, 7 p.m.
Duke at Auburn, 7 p.m.

November 19
Michigan State at Baylor, 8 p.m.

November 21
Vanderbilt at Florida State, 2 p.m.

November 22
Nebraska at Washington State, 10 p.m.