Indiana Sports Corporation | Conseco Fieldhouse | City of Indianapolis


Celebrating its 13th year in Indianapolis, the Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament presented by Xbox 360 Live will be played for the seventh-straight year at Conseco Fieldhouse, March 6-9, 2008. The 14th annual tournament features 10 games over four days, including competition on Saturday for the first time since 2001.

The Big Ten Conference is in its first of a five-year agreement with the City of Indianapolis to host both the Big Ten Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments. The men's event will be held at Conseco Fieldhouse from March 13-16, 2008.

All 11 teams participate in the women's tournament with the winner receiving the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The team that finishes atop the regular-season standings is the Big Ten champion. The bracket will be seeded according to the final regular-season standings with the conference champion earning the top seed and the top five finishers receiving first-round byes.

The inaugural Big Ten Tournament was played at Hinkle Fieldhouse in 1995 and remained at that location until 1996, when it then relocated to the RCA Dome from 1997-99. The tournament moved to Conseco Fieldhouse in 2000 and then left Indianapolis for a one-year stint in Grand Rapids, Mich., in 2001. The event returned to Indianapolis and Conseco Fieldhouse in 2002 and will remain at that venue through 2012.

The Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament has averaged over 5,000 fans per session in each of the last 10 years, including a record of 7,728 in 2006 - the last time the Big Ten Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments were held conjointly. That season, a record 38,638 fans packed Conseco Fieldhouse over the tournament's four days.

In the past 13 years of Big Ten Tournament play, the conference has welcomed over 381,000 fans, including over 354,000 spectators to the Indianapolis area. Six different conference representatives have become tournament champions. Purdue won its conference-best sixth title in 2007 after Ohio State and Michigan State became first-time winners in 2006 and 2005, respectively. Iowa and Penn State have each won two tiles, while Indiana claimed its only title in 2002, capping off a fairy-tale run as the tournament's No. 5 seed.

Join us as we celebrate our 13th year in Indianapolis, and order your tickets for the 2008 Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament presented by Xbox 360 Live today!