Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee- NU's Chelsea Armstrong

Armstrong led the nation in scoring last season.

June 25, 2013

Through today, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Wednesday.

Chelsea Armstrong - Northwestern - Field Hockey
Armstrong, the all-time leading scorer in Northwestern history, amassed 238 points in her career and became just the ninth player in NCAA Division I history to score 100 career goals. The two-time first-team NFHCA All-American led the Wildcats to a 16-4 record, the program's highest win total in 23 years. Armstrong led the nation and set a Northwestern single-season scoring record with 29 goals during the regular season. She was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, NFHCA West Regional Player of the Year and was tabbed a first-team All-Big Ten selection for the fourth time in her career. Click HERE for more information on Chelsea.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    

Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving



Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf  

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling

Amanda Kessel, Minnesota women's ice hockey

Justin Parr, Illinois baseball

Ashley Spencer, Illinois women's track & field  

Montee Ball, Wisconsin football   

Cassandra Darrah, Wisconsin softball   

Chad Wright, Nebraska men's track & field

Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska women's tennis

Venric Mark, Northwestern football